Joe on Forgiveness

Joe on Forgiveness

image

Forgiving isn’t forgetting. God alone can say He remembers our sins no more; (Hebrews 10:17) we simply don’t have the capacity to delete our memory banks. I am therefore not required to literally forget old hurts. I can certainly choose whether or not to dwell on them, but I can’t make them vanish.Forgiveness isn’t indifference. I may well forgive someone for a deeply inflicted wound, but if the memory of that wounding crosses my mind, it will still hurt. How can you think of something traumatic without an emotional response? That alone doesn’t constitute un-forgiveness.

Forgiveness isn’t isolated. That is, I may genuinely forgive, then, in my sinful human state, I may later in life re-hash what I’ve forgiven, dredge up the old hurts, re-experience the pain, then ignore the law against double jeopardy by re-trying the perpetrator, finding him guilty, and mentally executing him. None of which means I didn’t forgive him in the first place; rather, it means I sinfully chose to revisit the sin I had no right revisiting. Sometimes it’s not just forgiveness that’s required of us. It’s re-forgiveness as well.

Forgiveness can be harder with time and perspective. What seemed hurtful to a 12 year old can appear downright monstrous to an adult, because with time and perspective we better realize how horrendous things like bullying, abuse, or other violations really are. The child often thinks, “Perhaps I deserved this”, but the adult of later years screams, “No, you didn’t, and that never should have happened!” So I often find that women and men I work with who are well into their middle years are angrier or sadder over their old hurts than they were when the hurts were first inflicted. We pay a high price for growing up, one of which is the awareness of just how wrong the wrongdoers of our lives really were.

Finally, forgiveness is, in many cases, humanly impossible Which doesn’t relieve me of my responsibility to forgive. Rather, it spurs me on to remember that Jesus was speaking quite literally when He said, “Without Me, you can do nothing.” When I try forgiving brutal, cruel things which never should have happened, I often find myself in peter’s position when he saw the Lord walking on water and, in his distress and desperation, he said, “Bid me come walk with you.” (Matthew 14:28) Only by keeping his eyes fixed on Jesus in constant reliance could he do what was otherwise impossible.

Leave a comment